Frederiksborg Palace

On Saturday we went on a group outing with everyone in our building which is about twenty five people.  We rose early to meet our SRA at the main train station at 9am.  Then we took a 45 minute to Hillerod, which I am told was scenic but I slept the entire time.  We arrived and walked to the castle.  From the town square we were separated from the castle by a large lake.  Typical royalty to keep a lake between them and the proletariat.  

image

Part of the castle is under construction so sadly we couldn’t get the full effect.  We walked around the length of the lake and came to a a very intimidating gate.  This particular castle was built by Christian IV as a summer home for lavish parties and entertaining.  

image

I know I’ve said this already, but I really like all of the oxidized copper roofs and complex brick work.  Each of the statues around the main fountain show cherubs drinking, eating, and in general merriment to reflect the purpose of the palace.  Our program paid for the entrance to the palace since it was a bonding activity.  We were each given headset with an audio guide and told to wander the museum at our own leisure.  

image

The first notable room was the cathedral inside of the Palace, which is still used for services today.  Also as much as I resented taking an art history course this semester, I did realize walking around that I now know a lot more about architecture from this the 16th Century.  Proceeding from this room the palace turned into a chronological history of Copenhagen, each room telling the story of a different period in the monarchy. Many of the rooms were built in a French style emulating Versailles. The rooms were not particularly well lit so I did not take a lot of pictures, and Mostly I got sidetracked by the ceilings.  

image

I felt like I was in the vatican, walking through each room with my neck craned, bumping into walls making sure I didn’t miss any details.

image

This is the ball room, which apparently, our school rents sometimes for events.  Hopefully I get invited to that.  Walking into the ornate room makes you want to start dancing.

image

This is the ceiling of the ballroom.

image

This was supposed to be a picture of a very complex inlaid cabinet, but because of the glass panel it accidentally turned into a selfie.

image

This ceiling was nautical themes, displaying different battles from Sweden and Denmarks complex naval history.

image

In the next room I ran into this little demon, which will now haunt my dreams.  Not really sure what purpose it serves.

image

Another ceiling, this one shows various plebeians bowing down to the Danish queen and of course she has a lion at her feet.  Lions and elephants are two animals of the royal family.  

image

After the ceiling obsession, I also found an impressive collection of globes which just makes me want to travel, travel, travel. 

image

More ceilings!

image

Finally tucked away in a corner of the museum was Hans Christian Andersen’s original desk with some of his writings and photographs.  Then it was on to the next castle!

Leave a Reply

